Interfacing Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery

RICT 2021

56th International Conference on Medicinal Chemistry
56èmes Rencontres Internationales de Chimie Thérapeutique

 Virtual Event    July 7-9, 2021

Paul Ehrlich Award


Janssen Research & Development, a division of Janssen-Cilag SA, a subsidiary of the Johnson & Johnson group, and the Society for Therapeutic Chemistry (SCT) award the Paul EHRLICH Prize annually to a Researcher, or a Research Team, for a scientific work in the field of Therapeutic Chemistry. This 3.500€ prize is funded by Janssen Research & Development, a division of Jansen-Cilag S.A.
The Paul Ehrlich Award is a distinction conferred each year at the International Therapeutic Chemistry Meetings (RICT) by the SCT and the Laureate is invited to deliver a 45-minute plenary lecture.
The designation of the Winner is made by a Jury, composed of 6 members:
  • three members of the SCT Board of Directors: its President, Vice-President, and a member of the SCT Board, appointed by the President-in-Office;
  • a member of the Scientific Council of the SCT;
  • a member of the RICT Local Organising Committee (the last two appointed by the President of the SCT);
  • a representative of Janssen France.
The Paul Ehrlich Award 2020 goes to :
Stuart Schreiber


Stuart Schreiber is a co-Founder of the Broad Institute, the Morris Loeb Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University, and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Medicine and American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

His lab integrates chemical biology and human biology to advance the science of therapeutics. He is known for having developed systematic ways to explore biology, especially disease biology, using small molecules and for his role in the development of the field of chemical biology. Key advances include the discoveries of mTOR, histone deacetylases and evidence that chromatin marks regulate gene expression, and small molecules that promote protein–protein interactions. His research has been acknowledged through awards including most recently the Wolf Prize in Chemistry. His approach to therapeutics discovery guided the development of many biotechnology companies including Vertex Pharmaceuticals and Ariad Pharmaceuticals.

 Title of presentation: "Listening to Probes: Individuals and Populations"